Tuesday, November 20, 2012

Margaret A. Millmore

Interview of 
Margaret A. Millmore, 
Author of Book I : 


Questions by Roy Murry

Can you tell me a little about yourself? 

I’m a native Californian, and have lived in San Francisco since 1991 with my husband Bryan. I’m the grandniece of Irish author Benedict Kiely and the second cousin of Irish author Sharon Owens.

Do you remember the first story you wrote? 

Argh, that was so long ago…

Were you inspired by someone or something? 

I take inspiration from everything I experience on a daily basis. However my early literary loves were CS Lewis, Ray Bradbury and Stephen King.

What do you like about writing a story? 

Ever since I was a child I've been telling myself stories. Nothing is more cathartic than actually writing them down and seeing them develop and of course sharing them with others.

Can you tell us about your book?

The Four Series: They do exist and they always have. They live, love, and work among us and they are part of us. But they are different too, they are stronger and they live longer. They are the topic of many books, movies and myths, but their existence remains a secret, not everyone would accept them. And like us, they have those that are simply evil. Keeping these evil ones under control is the price they must pay to continue the lives they love. They must protect their human brethren from the Dark Ones, those that would rather kill than preserve.

Century after century the good battled the Dark Ones, always prevailing and preserving the lives of their beloved humans. In the 17th century, two powerful Dark leaders emerged, they organized their forces and a bitter war ensued. It was a fight to the death and the good thought they’d won. Four warriors led the battle, four warriors whose strength was beyond anything they knew, four warriors whose legacy had to be protected…

The good formed a consortium and with the help of a powerful sorcerer, a spell was cast; a spell that would follow the warriors’ lineage in case their power was needed again. The warriors are long dead, but their heirs are not, and now they must fight. The Dark Ones have re-emerged, they are more powerful, more resourceful and they want to control mankind and the world.

The Beginning-Book I: Clare had an ideal life. She lived in the perfect little town, had a great family and four of the best friends in the world.  She also had nightmares, nightmares that plagued her for almost a decade. But these are not ordinary nightmares; they are premonitions, warnings of what is to come and what she will become.

She discovers that she isn't alone in these vile dreams; her friends are having them too. They are dreaming of their ancestors and their own future...  The discovery of their destiny and the future they must embrace is shocking and terrifying.

What genre best fits for the book? 

Unfortunately, I don’t think it fits neatly into one genre, it’s a suspense/thriller with a sub-genre of vampires and werewolves.

Are you working on something new at the moment? 

I’m currently working on books 3 and 4 of The Four Series as well as another full length novel.

Do you have any tips for aspiring writers? 

Writing and getting published is a daunting and frustrating task – Don’t give up! Edit, edit, edit!

Where can people go to read your work? 

All of my work is available at Amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/Margaret-Millmore/e/B005ME8QTQ) as well as other major on-line retailers. For more information, visit: www.margaretmillmore.com

Do you have anything to add? 

Book II in The Four Series is now available and we expect to release Books III and IV in early 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment